First Knitting Attempt

knit cowl 2

So…I couldn’t help it.  After I got crocheting under my belt, I had to learn how to knit too.  This summer while I was on a family vacay, my mom and sister taught me the basics of knitting.  Cast on, knit, perl, cast off.  I’ll be honest.  It took me a while.  It wasn’t as easy as I had thought it would be after learning to crochet came so easily.  BUT…I didn’t give up, and I finished my first project.  The yarn is a hand spun blend (it even has silk in it) that my mom gave me.  It from Quillen Fiber Arts, an awesome fiber shop in Las Cruces, New Mexico.  If you visit there, or live near there, you need to go and check it out!  They have amazing fiber and tools.  So what do you think?  I’ll admit, that I had trouble focusing on K2, P2.  I would lose track of whether I had just knit or perled, but I just kept going and figured that even if I got off it would still look ok.  I am please to report that I think it looks great.  Not perfect, but I love it and am looking forward to using it this fall when the weather starts to cool down.  Here it is flat.  I hadn’t woven in the ends yet, but you can see the variegation of the yarn really well.

knit cowl  

Just keep knitting, just keep knitting…

Hugs,

Blog Signature

 

4 thoughts on “First Knitting Attempt

  1. Amazing what you can accomplish with some fiber, needles, and knit/purl! It turned out great. Beautiful fall colors. I showed the pic to the ladies at Quillan and they loved how it turned out. Kym loved the Bee trembler pin with it too! Another great accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

